Lifetime Achievement Awards Winners Francesca Curtis and Phyllis Papps
Lifetime Achievement Awards Winners Francesca Curtis and Phyllis Papps

The lucky winners of the 2019 Australian LGBTI Awards, from over 2000 nominees have been announced

Tonight, comedian Jordan Raskopoulos, YouTube star Alan Tsibulya and Panic! at the Disco frontman Brendon Urie were just some of the incredible community leaders to win awards at Australia’s biggest awards dedicated to celebrating the LGBTI community and their allies the 2019 Australian LGBTI Awards, headline sponsored by MLC Life Insurance.

Other winners include: pioneer activists Francesca Curtis and Phyllis Papps, who took home the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award; ABC’s You Can’t Ask That won the Public Award for Film, TV, & Web Series; and SBS took out the Brand award for the second year in a row, as well as the Marketing award.

Co-hosted by much-loved SBS presenter Patrick Abboud and comedian Jackie Loeb, the evening saw the who’s who of the LGBTI community descend on The Star for the special red carpet gala. Attendees included the winner of I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out of Here Richard ReidLucy Lawless (Xena: Warrior Princess), and comedian Joel Creasey.

“We’d like to extend a massive congratulations to all of our incredible award winners tonight,” said Australian LGBTI Awards Director, Silke Bader. “Their tireless efforts have been vital in the push for equality, opportunity and fair treatment for all, and there’s no doubt that we wouldn’t have come this far along without their contributions.”

Over 2,000 people were nominated across 18 categories including International and Local Icon of the year, Sports Personality, Ally, Brand and Marketing Campaign, Community Initiative/Charity and Inspirational Role Model.

There are two main groups to the awards, the Public Award Category and the Corporate Award Category. The Public Award categories are entirely decided by the public vote.

Public Awards Winners

(Sponsored by Carsales)
Sharyn Faulkner

Film, TV & Web series
ABC – You Can’t Ask That

International Icon 
(Sponsored by Coca Cola)
Brendon Urie

Community Initiative/Charity 
(Sponsored by the NRL)
Wear It Purple

(Sponsored by Holden)
Karina Brown and Vanessa Foliaki

Monica Hingston

(Sponsored by NOVA)
Ben Graetz aka Miss Ellaneous

Local Icon 
(Sponsored by Rimmel London)
Jordan Raskopoulos

(Sponsored by DE&E)

Music Artist 
(Sponsored by The Star Event Centre)
Mama Alto

(Sponsored by Amazon)
Georgie Stone

Brand & Marketing Campaign 
(Sponsored by IVE Group)
SBS Australia

Media Professional   
(Sponsored by BIG W)
Alan Tsibulya

Corporate Awards Winners

Diversity Champion 
(Sponsored by Dow)
Chelsea McPhail Rosenberg

Inspirational Role Model 
(Sponsored by Bloomberg)
Katherine Wolfgramme

LGBTI Employee Network
QBE Insurance

New LGBTI Employee Network
Woodside Energy – Spectrum

Lifetime Achievement Award
(Sponsored by Vodafone)
Francesca Curtis and Phyllis Papps