Silke Bader Publisher of LOTL Magazine
Silke Bader Founder of the Australian LGBTI Awards

Australia’s largest celebration of the LGBTI community and its allies, The Australian LGBTI Awards, announces today that nominations for the 2019 awards are officially open.

Marking its third year, the hugely successful event returns to celebrate the role models and individuals responsible for another fantastic year of LGBTI community work and representation.

To nominate someone for the 2019 awards, head to Winners will be announced at a gala dinner on Friday 1 March 2019, at The Star, Sydney as a part of the Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras Festival.

The 2018 LGBTI Awards saw a star-studded list of community leaders, celebrities and organisations coming out for the celebrations, including the likes of Lea DeLariaYael StoneDanielle BrooksLucy LawlessMagda Szubanski, Joel CreaseyOllie Henderson, and Jordan Raskopoulos.

Australian LGBTI Awards Director, Silke Bader said, “The past few years have proven to all Australians that love will always win. We come together again to extend our love and gratitude to the LGBTI members and allies responsible for the incredible work done to spread love, fight for equality, and to represent the diversity of this great community on-screen and off.”

“Everyone is welcome to nominate any individual they think has made an important impact to the LGBTI community. As we continue to fight for equality, it is so important that we take a break to celebrate the figures who have done so much good work for this community,” said Bader.

There are two main groups to the awards – the Public Award Category and the Corporate Award Category. The Public Award Categories include Hero of the Year, Celebrity of the Year, Sports Personality of the Year and Politician of the Year. These categories are entirely decided by the public. Popular nominees then go onto the shortlist, which is then again open to public vote.

The Corporate Award Category looks at the CEOs and Diversity Champions in the business sector. The public nominates in this category, with the winners then decided upon by our esteemed panel of judges, including Paul Zahra, Anton Enus and Sally Auld.

The more community votes received, the better the awards will reflect the community. The Australian LGBTI Awards offers the chance to say thank you to esteemed individuals and to celebrate the diverse Australian community.

For more information about the Australian LGBTI Awards, head to