Magda set to shine at Aurora!
Magda Szubanski

The Aurora Group are thrilled to announce that much-loved comedic actress Magda Szubanski will be keynote speaker at the Aurora Annual Ball 

Award winning Magda won hearts worldwide through her portrayal of Sharon in hit television series Kath and Kim and in addition to several other television and film-reviews roles, she is well-known for her marriage equality advocacy.

“I am absolutely honoured to be Keynote Speaker at this year’s Annual Aurora Ball. Aurora supports so many vital organisations in the LGBT community and I feel great pride to be joining the Aurora family.” says Magda.

Magda joins an already stellar line-up at the Ball including acclaimed entertainer and human rights supporter Gretel Killeen as host, performances from Sydney Show Queen Trevor Ashley, a hysterical sing-a-long trip down memory lane with The Carpenters from Kempsey and more still to be announced.

Aurora Chairman Adam Niewand says, “Magda is the perfect choice to be a keynote speaker at this year’s Aurora Annual Ball. As well as her hilarious wit, insight and intelligence, most importantly she is someone who can speak from the heart as a person who has faced many of the challenges in life that our LGBT community can so closely relate to. We are so excited that she will be joining the Aurora family at the Ball and it will be a truly fantastic evening.”

The Aurora Ball is a key event on the Sydney social calendar, and guests are treated to a glamorous night of entertainment along with champagne, cocktails and canapés on arrival, a wonderful three course meal and free flowing wine provided by Aurora Wine partner Oak Barrel throughout the night.

This year’s theme ‘Yesterday once More’, will transport guests back to a time when the Sydney Town Hall played host to bohemian artists’ balls.

The Aurora Annual Ball is a fundraiser for Aurora’s charitable grants programs, for GLBT projects across New South Wales. More than $30,000 raised through Aurora events has been given to a range of vital organisations as part of the 2012–13 Small Grants program.