Acon Honour Awards Winners 2013Eight people and organisations from across NSW were recognised for their service to NSW’s lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) community at a gala awards ceremony in Sydney.

Now in their seventh year, the Honour Awards is an annual event that recognises outstanding achievements within or contributions to NSW’s LGBTI community. The awards are also a gala fundraising event for LGBTI charity Aurora and for ACON, NSW’s leading HIV and LGBTI health organisation.

The winners were selected from a diverse field of 110 nominations and 27 finalists and were presented with their awards at a ceremony last night at the Ivy in Sydney. The event was attended by 300 people and raised over $55,000 for community initiatives supported by ACON and Aurora.

  1. William Yang won the Community Hero Award for his celebrated documentation of Sydney’s LGBTI community over the last 30 years and for being an outstanding cultural ambassador for the LGBTI community.
  2. Bill Bowtell AO was honoured with the ACON President’s Award in recognition of a lifetime dedicated to improving the health and wellbeing of people affected by HIV/AIDS.

The other winners were:

  • Katherine Hudson and Scott Williams (Young Achiever Award): for creating the Wear It Purple initiative to raise awareness about homophobic bullying and LGBTI youth suicide
  • Paul Capsis (Media/Arts/Entertainment Award): for outstanding contribution to the performing arts as an actor, singer and cabaret artist, and for many years of donating his time and talent for various LGBTI charity fundraisers
  • Arab Council Australia (Health & Wellbeing Award): for ground-breaking efforts to reduce homophobia in Arabic-speaking communities in NSW
  • NSW Gay and Lesbian Right Lobby (Community Organisation Award): for 25 years of leading the fight for LGBTI equality and social justice
  • House of Priscilla (Business Award): for 15 years of creating and supplying costumes for LGBTI community events such as Mardi Gras, DIVA and an infinite number of drag shows


ACON President Mark Orr congratulated the winners and all the finalists on their achievements and community service. “Last night’s event was a truly inspirational and thoroughly entertaining evening and a great celebration of the dynamic spirit of our community. I’d like to thank all the people who submitted nominations as well as all our guests for coming along and supporting ACON and Aurora,” Mr Orr says.


Aurora Chair Adam Niewand extended thanks to the event’s partners and supporters. “We thank our event partners SX Magazine, Sydney Gay and Lesbian Business Association, Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras, Foxtel, South African Tourism, Taj Hotels, Merivale, Glyde Health, Vinaceous Wines and OX Live as well as all the people, businesses and organisations which donated items for the silent auction