Sports Show with rainbow LacesThe finalists for the 2024 Australian Pride in Sport Awards have been announced ahead of a glittering ceremony in Melbourne on 23 April.

Now in its seventh year, the event will see sporting identities, clubs, and codes across the country gather to celebrate LGBTQ+ inclusion throughout Australian sport over the past year. 

First held in 2018, the Australian Pride in Sport Awards is the first celebration dedicated solely to recognising exceptional efforts in making sport more inclusive of LGBTQ+ people. It is produced by Pride in Sport, the national not-for-profit sporting inclusion program spearheaded by Australia’s most prominent LGBTQ health organisation, ACON. 

This year, the Australian Pride in Sport Awards will be emceed by international star Adam Hills. A five-time Gold Logie nominee, Hills is one of Australia’s best-known comedians, hosting Spicks and Specks and Adam Hills Tonight, and over a decade on the UK’s Channel Four talk show, The Last Leg. 

Returning to CENTREPOINT at Melbourne Park, the event will include dinner, drinks, and the much-anticipated award ceremony. The Awards will also feature entertainment from Australian Idol, West End and Young Divas star Emily Williams. 

One of the leading events on the LGBTQ+ sporting calendar, the Australian Pride in Sport Awards honours athletes, employees, volunteers, and organisations and showcases the results of the Pride in Sport Index (PSI), the national benchmarking instrument used to assess LGBTQ+ inclusion within Australian sport. 

The Australian Pride in Sport Awards will feature a host of leading sporting and community figures, including Pride in Sports patrons, World Cup and Ashes-winning cricket captain Alex Blackwell and NRL legend and pioneer Ian Roberts. Funds from the awards will support efforts to make Australian sports inclusive of LGBTQ+ communities. 

Pride in Sport National Program Manager Beau Newell said: “The PSI allows sporting organisations and clubs around Australia to benchmark their LGBTQ+ inclusive policies and practices every year, and the Australian Pride in Sport Awards provide an opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate those that have demonstrated genuine efforts towards making sports pitches everywhere a more welcoming space for everyone.”

Over the past few years, there has been a noticeable pivot towards embracing LGBTQ+ inclusion and fostering a stance of zero tolerance towards homophobia, transphobia, and biphobia. This shift is evident in corporate diversity and inclusion initiatives and sports and society, inspiring many in our communities who want to play sports. 

Sporting bodies and clubs across Australia are acknowledging the necessity of implementing measures to ensure that your sexual orientation and gender identity do not hinder your participation, enjoyment, or engagement with sports, regardless of your level. Since its inaugural year, the Australian Pride in Sport Awards have acknowledged and celebrated this significant shift in practice with LGBTQ+ inclusion work in Australian sport. 

Over the years, as the PSI and Awards have continued, we’ve noticed a consistent expansion in both the quantity and diversity of sports organisations involved and increased dedication from these bodies to foster safer, more inclusive spaces and experiences for LGBTQ+ people. 

This is fundamentally what the Pride in Sport Awards is all about, and we couldn’t be happier to come together again and celebrate these achievements.” 

The 2024 Australian Pride in Sport Awards is on Tuesday, 23 April 2024, 6 pm – 10 pm at CENTREPIECE at Melbourne Park, Olympic Blvd, Melbourne. For more information, click here. 




  • Kristen Stone Hutchinson, Lacrosse Victoria 
  • David Keough, Collaroy Tennis Club 
  • Sophie Moore, Football Australia 
  • Kirsten Penny, National Basketball League



  • John Baker AM ESM, Surf Live Saving Australia 
  • Shaun Barnett, Perth Scorpions Volleyball Club 
  • Kristina Mitsikas, UWA Sport 
  • Rebecca Shaw, Gymnastics NSW 



  • Champion Q League Netball, Queer Sporting Alliance and Netball Victoria 
  • 2023 NBL Champion Pride Round 
  • Rainbow Racquets, Squash Australia  
  • Sydney WorldPride Tennis Project, Tennis NSW 



  • Shaun Jacobs, Sydney Hookers [Boxing] 
  • Trent Robinson, Sydney Roosters/Allianz Coach for All [Rugby League] 
  • Georgia Verry, Conscious Combat Club [Martial Arts] 
  • Lil Waters, Mt Alexander Falcons [Australian Rules Football] 



  • Davis Atkins, Hockey Australia 
  • Campbell Harrison, Sport Climbing Australia 
  • Greta Hayes, Hockey NSW 
  • Martin Stark, World Gay Boxing Championships 



  • “Sam Kerr: ‘Everyone should feel comfortable in whatever skin they’re in, whoever they want to be, whoever they want to love.’” – Liana Buratti, Football Australia 
  • “’We always play with pride’: How the Matildas helped pave the way for LGBTQIA+ visibility in football” – Samantha Lewis, ABC News 
  • “A-League player Josh Cavallo tells football codes to ‘grow up’ and be more inclusive ahead of pride round” – David Marchese, ABC Triple J 
  • “Equal the Contest” – Mitch Nivalis 



  • Sporting Organisation of the Year
  • Community Sporting Organisation of the Year
  • Most Improved Sporting Organisations
  • Gold, Silver and Bronze tier Sporting Organisations


*These awards are based on the results of the Pride in Sport Index (PSI)