Edit Module Edit ModuleShow Tags

Sisters in Crime

Sisters in Crime -Women's Crime Book competition closing May 10th.


This year will be Australia’s 13th Davitt Awards for the best crime and mystery books by Australian women. To enter the esteemed completion is free of charge and publishers have until May 10 to enter.

The Davitts are named after Ellen Davitt, the author of Australia’s first mystery novel, Force and Fraud, written in 1865. The Davitts have played a key role in getting women’s crime books better recognised – and in encouraging Australian publishers to take a punt on crime books produced by women locally, instead of just importing the latest blockbusters from overseas.

The surge in adult crime novels by Australian women is particularly notable – with at least 35 in contention, compared to 22 last year. Back in 2001, when the Davitts were established, only seven adult novels were in contention,” she said.

The judging panel for 2013 comprises forensic pathologist Dr Shelley Robertson, retired bookseller Rosi Tovey, Sisters in Crime national co-convenors Tanya King-Carmichael and Jacqui Horwood and former convenor Sylvia Loader.

A long list with award contenders will be published in June, a shortlist in July.

To enter the Davitts, email Carmel Shute, Sisters in Crime, National Co-convenor on cshute@internode.on.net by May 10

Enquiries: 0412 569 356


Edit ModuleShow Tags

Archive »Related Articles

Add your comment: